Simple Food Rotation

images

 

LONG TERM FOOD STORAGE

LAYING-IN FOOD (PUTTING UP FOOD)

When you purchase food to lay-in or put-up, consider this order in which you will eat your food in an emergency scenario.  Then rotate your foods often in the order below as well.

EAT FIRST-  What is in your freezer and refrigerator and what is already ‘open’ in your pantry and cabinets. Foods that will spoil without power or go stale within a week to two.

 

EAT SECOND- Canned goods (both commercial and homemade), unopened items in your pantry and cabinets. Home sealed/canned or dried foods. Foods that will spoil within in several months to a year.

 

EAT THIRD-  Commercial purchased freeze-dried, dehydrated, and powdered long-term storage foods.  Foods that have a shelf-life of 10 or more years.

 

ROTATE, ROTATE, ROTATE!!

IF YOU DON’T USE IT, YOU WILL LOSE IT!!!

LEARN TO ROTATE YOUR FOOD STOCK AND PRACTICE ROTATING:

Example:  I take fresh broccoli from my refrigerator (or a freezer bag from the freezer), a can of pinto beans from my pantry, and a #10 Can of freeze-dried pork chops from my long-term storage.

I cook dinner with these 3 items, replacing them when I go shopping the next time, and put the leftover/extra pork chops from my #10 Can sealed in a Ziploc bag and store them in the freezer. I can then use the remaining pork chops over the next month for several meals. I rotate my stock this way regularly.

I date all my food with Sharpie permanent markers on the packaging-  date with when I put it into storage, and then when I pulled it out of storage and opened it (if I have extra/leftovers).

Use the same methods restaurants use:  FIFO- First In First Out rotation to insure proper rotatation and use of your foods.  No sense in letting anything spoil or go to waste since food costs money!

Leave a Reply

